Softball playoffs: Connolly breaks down Division 2



Top seeds earned by Mission Viejo, Savanna

Connolly breaks down the softball playoffs

Softball: Pairings for all divisions



2014 champion: Mission Viejo                                                 

Top-four seeded teams: 1. Mission Viejo (26-0); 2. Yucaipa (26-3); 3. Valley View of Moreno Valley (21-6); 4. Agoura (19-9)

O.C. teams: Aliso Niguel (15-11-1); Capistrano Valley (17-11); Foothill (16-12); Fullerton (21-8); La Habra (19-8); Mission Viejo (26-0); Sunny Hills (17-10); Villa Park (16-9)

Analysis: All signs point to yet another rematch between top-seeded Mission Viejo and second-seeded Yucaipa in the finals. Those two teams previously squared off in the Dave Kopps Tournament of Champions and the Michelle Carew Classic, with the Diablos escaping both outings with one-run victories. Taylor McQuillin and Brooke Bolinger are the division’s top aces, and a third encounter between the two would be must-see action. Playing in both team’s favor is the three-week playoff schedule. Having to pitch only twice a week means McQuillin and Bolinger will both be fresh for all their postseason outing.

To get back to the finals, Mission Viejo could very well matchup with Sunny Hills in the quarterfinals. In addition to McQuillin and Alyssa Palomino, Lancers shortstop Shay Knighten (Oklahoma) is one of the country’s most sought after recruits, making Sunny Hills a tough out for whoever it is they’ll play.

Don’t sleep on either Foothill or Villa Park coming out of the North Hills League. The Knights topped Los Alamitos this season, while the Spartans knocked off several quality opponents at the Tournament of Champions in Bullhead City, AZ. 

See archived 'Sports' stories »

SoCal Prep Legends
Search Players


San Clemente 41, Trabuco Hills 40 - 00:00 1OT QT - Completed


Ventura 0, Valencia 1 - 00:00 2nd Half - Completed


Gahr 61, Los Alamitos 63 - 00:00 4th QT - Completed


Huntington Beach 64, Loyola 70 - 00:00 4th QT - Completed


Woodcrest Christian 74, Santiago 59 - 00:00 4th QT - Completed


Godinez 30, Mission Viejo 29 - 00:00 2nd QT - Completed


Saddleback 3, Santa Ana Valley 3 - 00:00 2OT Half - Completed


South Pasadena 52, Ocean View 45 - 00:00 4th QT - Completed


San Clemente 3, Esperanza 0 - 00:00 2nd Half - Completed


Downey 63, San Clemente 66 - 00:00 4th QT - Completed