CIF State Wrestling Tournament: Day 2 Live updates


3:50 p.m.

Your 2015 county state medalists:

106 - Liam Cronin, Servite, finalist

126 - Russell Rohlfing, Sonora, 6th

170 - Andrew Morgan, Fountain Valley, 3rd; Mike Marshall, San Clemente, 5th; Jed Smith, Mater Dei, 7th

182 - Leangelo White, Western, 4th; Michael Vasquez, Servite, 7th

220 - Steven Ahumada, Loara, 7th

Hwt - Abe Ochoa, Yorba Linda, 6th

1:01 p.m.

Here is the order of the finals later tonight:

126, 132, 195, 160, 220, 152, 285, 145, 113, 106, 138, 120, 170, 182

12:51 p.m.

I think I have this correct:

Andrew Morgan (FV, 170) and Leangelo White (Western, 182) are in the third/fourth match

Russell Rohlfing (Sonora, 126), Mike Marshall (San Clemente, 170) and Abe Ochoa (Yorba Linda, heavy) are in the 5th/6th match

Jed Smith (Mater Dei, 170), Michael Vasquez (Servite, 182) and Steven Ahumada (Loara, 220) are in the 7th/8th place match.

12:45 p.m.

Ochoa down 1-0 into third. and there's a bigger dude currently riding him out. That's it. I think that was Jarrod Snyder of Frontier that beat Ochoa. 1-0. Ochoa now goes for fifth/sixth.

12:28 p.m.

Morgan-Marshall at 170. up now. Leangelo White (Western, 182) also on the mat. not the Morgan-Marshall mat. White pins. he stays in the chase for third.

Morgan-Marshall scoreless after 2.

big third for Morgan. takedown; 3-pt near fall and then he gets the pin. He stays in the race for third. Marshall goes for fifth.

12:17 p.m.

Jed Smith (Mater Dei, 170) and Michael Vasquez (Servite, 182) are both in the 7th/8th match at their weights.

12:06 p.m.

Rohlfing vs. Figueroa (Bakersfield) winner goes for third; loser goes for fifth. Rohlfing loses 5-2. He will go for fifth place.

11:22 a.m.

finally, the 170-pound semifinals are out. Andrew Morgan faces Josh Hokit of Clovis.

takedown Hokit. 2-0 lead

Anthony Valencia (SJB) is already in the finals. He doesn't waste time.

escape Morgan. 2-1. Takedown Morgan. 3-2 lead. Escape Hokit. 3-3.

Meanwhile, Mike Marshall (SC) just beat Jed Smith (MD) 3-2.

Back to Morgan-Hokit. Takedown Hokit he now leads 5-3. 26 seconds left.

escape Morgan 5-4. 5 seconds left!!

Hokit holds on for 5-4 victory.

Leangelo White (Western) defeated Michael Vasquez (Servite).

10:56 a.m.

Still sitting here waiting for the 170-pound semifinals.

10:44 a.m.

They need to speed up these championship semifinals. Just saying.

10:42 a.m.

Abe Ochoa (Yorba Linda) wins his first match. He's a state medalist.

10:30 a.m.

Steven Ahumada (Loara, 220) win by fall at 220 pounds. VJ Leuta (Servite, heavyweight) just lost by fall.

10:20 a.m.

Sonora's Russell Rohlfing just dropped a 10-7 decision to Nathan Cervantez of De La Salle in the semifinals. Rohlfing fought back to tie at 7-7. released Cervantez in the third and then Cervantez sealed it with a TD.

10:18 a.m.

Leangelo White (Western, 182) and Michael Vasquez (Servite, 182) both won to get in. Now they're facing off in the next round.

10:04 a.m.

San Clemente's Mike Marshall win 4-3 at 170 consols. Also, at 170, Mater Dei's  Jed Smith beats Penyascek of Gilroy. Both Marshall and Smith are both in top 8 and for good measure they've set up an an All-OC medal match showoff in the next round.

Sonora's Russell Rohlfing on the mat in his semifinal

10:02 a.m.

UFC's Mark Munoz is in the building.

9:51 a.m.

Liam Cronin (Servite) is headed to the finals. Cronin avenged an earlier loss to Quartz Hill's Randon Miranda and defeated him 9-7 in the semifinals.

Cronin will face Cade Olivas (St. John Bosco) in the finals. I think they've met each other a couple of times this year.

9:48 a.m.

Tough start in the consolation round for OC: Dexter Viengvilay (Laguna Hills, 106); Ryan Gutierrez (Brea Olinda, 113), Noah Blakley (Servite, 126) and Trevor Perez (Mater Dei, 138) all lost and are eliminated.

8:40 a.m.

When you take too long to clear the mat, you get called out over the PA: Selma we're waiting on you and we're not happy about it.

8:37 a.m.

There is livestreaming of today's action. Copy and paste this link:

8:28 a.m.

So we have 11 county wrestlers in the first round of consolation. Win and stay in. Here is that list:

106 – Dexter Viengvilay (Laguna Hills)

113 – Ryan Gutierrez (Brea Olinda)

126 – Noah Blakley (Servite)

138 – Trevor Perez (Mater Dei)

170 – Mike Marshall (San Clemente; Jed Smith (Mater Dei)

182 – Michael Vasquez (Servite); Leangelo White (Western)

220 – Steven Ahumada (Loara)

Hwt – VJ Leuta (Servite); Abe Ochoa (Yorba Linda)

And we have three in the semifinals: Liam Cronin (Servite, 106); Russell Rohlfing (Sonora, 126) and Andrew Morgan (Fountain Valley, 170)

8:15 a.m.

Welcome back to the Rabobank Arena for day 2 of the CIF State Wrestling Championships. The fun begins at 9 a.m. with the consolation round.

I need breakfast. I need sleep.

Also, say a prayer for the OCVarsity crew. They're about to embark on a 40-assignment day back in the OC. I'll just be over here relaxing.

See archived 'Sports' stories »

SoCal Prep Legends
Search Players


Huntington Beach 1, JSerra 2 - 00:00 2nd Half - Completed


Paramount 5, El Toro 1 - 44:59 2nd Half - Completed


Canyon 0, El Toro 3 - 3rd Set - Completed


Foothill 8, Capistrano Valley Christian 3 - 7th Inns - Completed


El Toro 3, Capistrano Valley 1 - 4th Set - Completed


Corona del Mar 0, Godinez 1 - 00:00 1st Half - Completed


Long Beach Poly 36, Troy 21 - 08:00 3rd QT - Completed


Rancho Christian 61, Capistrano Valley 68 - 00:00 4th QT - Completed


Sierra Canyon (Chatsworth) 56, Troy 68 - 00:00 1OT QT - Completed


San Clemente 41, Trabuco Hills 40 - 00:00 1OT QT - Completed